Pasifica All Blacks through Weight Behind PRPW

The Pacific Rugby Players Welfare organisation has become the first Players Association in the world to have representatives in every major rugby competition.

This follows the announcement of a re-vitalised board which sees All Blacks Jerome Kaino, Ardie Savea, Anthony Tuitavake, Seta Tamanivalu and Ngani Laumape, Fiji’s Jim Nagusa, Josh Matavesi & Ilikena Bolakoro, USA’s Shalom Suniula & Andrew Duratalo, as well as Tonga’s Nasi Manu, added to an already prestigious list of names on the PRPW Board (See full board details on the right).

An independent not-for-profit organisation that supports professional and semi-professional players of Pacific Island heritage – enabling their ongoing success both on and off the field, PRPW’s work to date has predominantly been U.K. & Europe focussed since being established in 2016. With Pasifika representation increasing outside of rugby’s traditional heartlands PRPW’s new-look board reflects the shifting dynamics of rugby and the need for increased support networks and representation for Pacific players in both established and emerging markets.

On the PRPW board additions, CEO Dan Leo stressed the importance for player representative bodies to be constantly evolving.

“The game is changing rapidly, and so are the needs of our Pacific players” said Leo

“It would be naive to think that today’s P.I player’s concerns and struggles are exactly the same as those myself and other more senior board members had, even 4 or 5 years ago.

“There will be similarities, but rugby’s growth in places like America and Spain which are the fastest growing markets for Pacific players, on top of challenges like COVID-19 means we are having to adapt quickly.

“As a Board, we realised many of us were either retired or coming to the end of our careers, so an injection of fresh blood, players who are in the prime of their careers and passionate to see Pacific Rugby reach it’s potential is important for us as an organisation, staying in touch with the modern demands of the game”

PRPW receives no benefit from World Rugby or any member unions and is not recognised by the ‘rugby establishment’. We embrace this autonomy as it enables us to represent more effectively our members, many of whose issues relate to the conduct of one member union or another, or issues relating to the transition from one jurisdiction to another.

PRPW has become the recognised voice for Pacific players and we extend a heart-felt welcome to our new Board members and thank them each in advance for what they will bring to the organisation and the future of P.I rugby.

THE PRPW BOARD (including our own Sam Tuitupou):

Aleki Lutui (England)
Lauren Bolakoro (France)
Mike Umaga (England)
Dan Leo (England)
Fosi Pala’amo (Ireland)
Nemani Nadolo (France)
Netani Talei (England)
Census Johnston (France)
Sunia Koto (France)
Inoke Afeaki (NZ)
Ben Atiga (Scotland)
Junior Paramore (England)
Henry Tuilagi (France)
Manu Tuilagi (England)
Sam Tuitupou (England)
Viliami Ma’asi (England)
Willie Poching (England)
Krisnan Inu (England)
Kahn Fotuali’i (NZ)
Maama Molitika (Wales)
Soane Tongauiha (England)
John Afoa (England)
Fritz Lee (France)
Nick Williams (Wales)
Charles Piutau (England)
Josh Matavesi (England)
Cooper Vuna (England)
Lome Faatau (England)
Will Hafu (Tonga)
Jim Nagusa (France)
Jonny Leota (England)
Kylie Leuluai (England)
Anthony Tuitavake (France)
Alex Tulou (France)
Chris Seuteni (France)
Ephraim Taukafa (France)
Matt Toomua (Australia)
Pelu Taele (NZ)
Tusi Pisi (Japan)
Wycliffe Palu (Japan)
Matt Luamanu (France)
Victor Vito (France)
Jerome Kaino (France)
Seta Tamanivalu (France)
Nasi Manu (Italy)
Ngani Laumape (NZ)
Ardie Savea (NZ)
Shalom Suniula (USA)
Andrew Durutalo (USA)